DOCK D3


Housing

Competition 2010
Delivery 2015
Surface 12800 m²
Cost 17.3 M
Project Manager Adrien Genevrier
Landscape design JM Rameau

Photos Sergio Grazia

After consultation, the agency was given the task of the urban and architectural co-ordination of a big block of land, engaging 3 different architects while it was assigned the specific task of studying a housing brief.

A former industrial site, the Saint Ouen docks have become an exceptional location, residing on the banks of the Seine and revolving around a 30-acre garden.
After consultation, the agency was given the task of the urban and architectural co-ordination of a big block of land, engaging 3 different architects while it was assigned the specific task of studying a housing brief.
The different projects were amalgamated in order to create a genuine, mixed harmony of architectures and volumes. Two thin, 11-storey buildings rise over the garden front. Despite their varying plasticities they are linked to each other by a common base.

And their separation has made it possible to give dwellings located behind the front a similar view of the gardens. The first is in stone and metallic gray and exudes a particularly expressionistic architecture made of jutting triangular balconies.
The second is more crystal-like with its slightly golden, double-glass envelope that covers the continuous balconies. This contrast and diversity of vocabulary highlights the fact that they abut on the gardens, emphasizes the subtlety of the buildings and underscores the spaces separating them to reveal the depth of the block.

The third apartment building stands on a big street corner and is composed of an unstable pile of colored volumes.

This stacking, that plays on the directional sliding of the cubes, makes it hard to read the scale and lends a distinctive identity to the intersection.

DOCK D3


Urbanisme

Concours 2010
Livraison 2015
Surface 12800 m²
Paysagiste JM Rameau

Photos Sergio Grazia

Anciennement occupé par des friches industrielles, le quartier des docks de St Ouen est devenu un site exceptionnel, situé sur les bords de la Seine et centré autour d’un parc de 12 ha.

Au terme d’une consultation, l’agence s’est vue attribuée la mission de coordination urbaine et architecturale d’un îlot important comprenant 3 architectes différents et l’étude d’un programme spécifique de logements.

Afin de créer une véritable mixité des architectures et des volumes, les différents projets ont été mélangés. Sur le front de parc, deux bâtiments élancés de 11 niveaux chacun se détachent. Malgré leurs plastiques différentes, ils sont cependant reliés l’un à l’autre par un socle commun.

Leur écartement permet d’offrir également aux logements situés à l’arrière la même vue sur le parc. Le premier est minéral, gris métal, il dégage une architecture particulière, expressionniste, formée de balcons triangulaires en saillie.

Le second est cristallin, il est identifié par une double peau de verre légèrement dorée qui recouvre les balcons filants. Ce contraste et cette diversité des écritures animent la frontalité sur le parc, la finesse des édifices et les failles qui les séparent révèlent la profondeur de l’îlot.

Le troisième bâtiment de logement traité, occupe un angle de rue important, il est constitué d’un empilement instable de volumes colorés.

Cette superposition qui joue sur les glissements directionnels des cubes, trouble la lecture des échelles et donne au carrefour une identité particulière.