RPA YERSIN


Housing

Project 2012
Delivery 2016
Program 4500 m²

Photos Sergio Grazia, Stefan Tuchila

In Paris a street corner is always considered an urban and architectural event.

With one expanse of façade overlapping another, the intersection’s image is enriched by treating a volume and attaining a complex composition. The positioning and advantageous standing of the two avenues that border this plot of land in the 13th arrondissement underline the phenomenon and gives its particular slenderness and monumentality to this residence for the elderly and Alzheimer sufferers.

The presence of a square and discontinuous low-rent housing steered the project to a particular expression of volume research. When the entrance hall appears, the core body volume begins a fold that opens onto a gabled wall and the courtyard of the low-rent buildings.

This angling avoids a «wall-like effect» on the street, opens to an empty inner space and accents the corner’s vertical elegance.

Playing on a single glass material, the base’s wall rises in a façade, fragments, deconstructs the gable wall’s thickness, refines and creates a singular outline. The building evokes a solid, chiselled mass that incorporates all of its walls’ shapes and distortions.

RPA YERSIN


Santé

Concours 2012
Livraison 2016
Surface 4500 m²
Cout 8 M
Éco-conception ,
Chef de projet Sébastien Compère
Paysagiste JM Rameau

Photos Sergio Grazia, Stefan Tuchila, Pierre L'Excellent

À Paris, un angle de rue est toujours considéré comme un événement urbain et architectural.

Il permet d’enrichir l’image du carrefour par le traitement d’un volume et d’atteindre une composition complexe par le glissement d’un pan de façade sur un autre. La position et le statut privilégiés des deux avenues qui bordent cette parcelle du 13ème arrondissement accentuent le phénomène et offrent son élancement et sa monumentalité particuliers à cette résidence pour malades d’Alzheimer et personnes âgées.

La présence d’un square et du bâti fragmenté des HBM a orienté le projet vers la recherche d’une expression volumétrique particulière. Lorsque le porche apparaît, le volume du corps central amorce un pli qui s’ouvre sur le pignon et la cour des immeubles HBM.

Ce déhanchement évite « l’effet  muraille » sur la rue, ouvre vers le vide intérieur et accentue l’élégance verticale de l’angle.

Jouant sur une monomatière continue, le verre, la paroi du socle s’élève en façade, se fragmente, déconstruit l’épaisseur du pignon, s’affine et dessine une silhouette singulière. L’édifice évoque un solide, une masse ciselée qui intègre toutes les géométries et déformations de ses parois.