NANTERRE DIVERSITE

  • NANTERRE DIVERSITE | Brenac & Gonzalez et Associés
  • NANTERRE DIVERSITE | Brenac & Gonzalez et Associés
  • NANTERRE DIVERSITE | Brenac & Gonzalez et Associés
  • NANTERRE DIVERSITE | Brenac & Gonzalez et Associés
  • NANTERRE DIVERSITE | Brenac & Gonzalez et Associés
  • NANTERRE DIVERSITE | Brenac & Gonzalez et Associés

NANTERRE DIVERSITE


Housing

Competition 2009
Delivery 2013
Surface 20 200 m² (96 logements en accession libre, 93 logements locatifs sociaux, 57 logements en accession sociale, 52 logements Résidence Jeunes Actifs)

Photos Sergio Grazia

Rather than mere architectural research, this project offers “architectural units” leading not just to differentiated places but specific atmospheres, sources of originality and collective identity. The aesthetics are an added value.

There is both home-ownership housing and a residence for young working people, both very urbane, home-ownership housing reminiscent of town houses and social housing with “vernacular”-type architecture.
The urban research is driven by the concept of volumetric hyphenation. The openings between the different volumes encourage visual porosity by accenting see-through views between the inner courtyards and public space. With their porches, pathways and gardens they are also sources of spatial richness by producing urban sequences that favour encounters between people.
In response to the ground topography the project is divided into three thick stripes that combine into plots. A desire for diversity dictates the typological and architectural choices.

The linear first building protects the rest of the development from the noise of Avenue Maréchal Joffre.
The composition of volumes and the phenomena of the shifting layout plan create pronounced urban gaps. By cutting it up into plots there are very few facing neighbours. The buildings are systematically walk-through or multi-directional. The development’s residents share the vegetable gardens that are managed by the family-garden association. They act as a meeting point that enhances social diversity.

NANTERRE DIVERSITE


Logements

Concours 2009
Livraison 2013
Surface 20 200 m² (96 logements en accession libre, 93 logements locatifs sociaux, 57 logements en accession sociale, 52 logements Résidence Jeunes Actifs)

Photos Sergio Grazia

Plutôt qu’une recherche d’architecture(s), le projet propose des « unités architecturales » pouvant fabriquer des lieux  différenciés mais aussi des atmosphères particulières, sources d’originalité et d’identité collective. L’esthétique vient en plus.

On y trouve des logements en accession sociale et une résidence jeunes actifs, à l’urbanité affirmée, des logements en accession libre qui évoquent l’immeuble-villa et enfin des logements sociaux qui déclinent une architecture « vernaculaire ».
Le concept de césure volumétrique guide l’étude urbaine. En effet, les ouvertures entre les différents volumes favorisent leur porosité visuelle en dégageant des vues traversantes entre les cœurs d’îlots et les espaces publics. Elles sont également sources de richesses spatiales, fabriquent des séquences urbaines propices aux rencontres de voisinage et à la convivialité : porches, passages, jardins, socles etc.

Pour répondre à la topographie de son sol, la proposition urbaine se divise en trois bandes épaisses qui se recomposent en plots. Les propositions typologiques et architecturales répondent à une volonté de diversité.

Le premier bâtiment, linéaire, protège l’ensemble résidentiel du bruit de l’avenue du Maréchal Joffre.
La composition volumétrique et les phénomènes de glissement du plan masse créent des failles urbaines prononcées. Grâce au découpage en plots, les bâtiments bénéficient d’un faible vis-à-vis. Ils sont systématiquement traversants ou multi-orientés. Des jardins potagers gérés par l’association des jardins familiaux sont partagés par les habitants de l’îlot. Lieux de rencontre, ils renforcent la mixité du projet.